Real Leadership from the Mayor’s Chair

In advance of sharing my 2022 mayoral campaign priorities, I thought that it would be helpful to share a blog post about how I would approach the role of Mayor. For me, serving as the Mayor is all about listening to everyone who wants to talk, learning from their perspectives and experiences, and leading actively alongside Council, staff and the community.


LISTEN

In order to fully understand the issues of our community, the Mayor must be present and willing to listen to resident concerns, perspectives and ideas at any time. Through active listening, I will ensure that residents know that, regardless of how they vote, my door will always be open and that I am always here to help. All residents should be comfortable contacting their Mayor and getting help with issues that are impacting them and their families. Even if I am not able to directly act, I can help them to navigate towards a solution.


LEARN

Through conversations with community members, the Mayor can gain valuable insight into topic areas that they are not familiar with. Whether it is agriculture, recreation, road construction or other important municipal topics, there are subject matter experts right here in McNab/Braeside who can assist Council in formulating the best policies and programs for local residents. Additional research and dialogue with Township staff will also help to see the totality of an issue from all sides.


LEAD

As Mayor, I would provide more effective leadership to Council and the community. By being actively involved with Township and community events, I will be around the community listening to folks and being available to answer resident questions. In addition to increased public engagement opportunities, I will also work to bring Council and the community together to work toward consensus in order to move the Township forward.


On Saturday, August 27th, 2022 at noon, I will launch my mayoral campaign priorities on social media. They will also be posted on the campaign website at www.voteoliverjacob.ca/priorities.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started